Jam discussion

Go ahead. Talk about it.
Doreen Peri
Site Admin

Jam discussion

Post by Doreen Peri » August 26th, 2014, 8:25 pm

I was typing this to reply to a topic about Jams which when I pushed "post", had disappeared. I'm posting it anyway.

________

I've written some of my best work (in my opinion) during jams.

I'm a spontaneous writer, always have been. I miss it, but I can't make it come out right now. Some of the writings I wrote during jams turned into performance pieces and recorded pieces. It's very inspiring to me, too. Unfortunately, my words are stifled. They are sort of a reflection of where I am in life. I'm stuck. Hard to explain. Maybe if the words get unstuck, so will I. I don't know. Or maybe if I get unstuck, the words will get unstuck.

I've noticed the last few planned jams we've had, hardly anybody shows up. It's slow and I suspect probably at least half of our memberlist uses different email addresses now and there's no way to get in touch with them. That's my thoughts on it anyway.

We could have another planned jam, of course...

Doreen Peri
Site Admin

Re: Jam discussion

Post by Doreen Peri » August 26th, 2014, 8:34 pm

I'm very proud of this review. A poet on another site, Bob Kaven wrote this about the fact that I write spontaneous poetry. He's usually quite a critic so I was very surprised to get such a review from him. I'm going to save this forever. Here's what he said: