The Right Questions

Commentary by Lightning Rod - RIP 2/6/2013
Forum rules
To honor our site members who are no longer with us.
Lightning Rod

The Right Questions

Post by Lightning Rod » December 12th, 2004, 3:02 pm

here is the latest edition of The Poet's Eye.

http://www.studioeight.tv/LR/Poetseye121304.html

-----

We are asking the wrong questions. How can we expect to get the right answers?

In the mean time the world of American journalism is losing one its most resonant voices. Bill Moyers is retiring. I met Bill Moyers once, when he was a youngster and I was even more of a youngster. He was Lyndon Johnson's press secretary at the time. I was a high-school journalism student attending a contest/conference in Ft. Worth. The guest speakers were Dan Rather and Bill Moyers, because they were both rising stars in journalism and native Texans. I fear I'm dating myself here.

As a young journalist, I was impressed by both men. Rather was the more passionate of the two and he was an early inspiration to me, but Moyers was more intriguing because he seemed to want to penetrate more than merely report. He was already moving from reportage to analysis.

In his post White House journalistic career he built one of the finest documents of American life that exists. He tackled every issue with a thoughtful and religiously journalistic approach. He is an ordained Baptist minister, after all, but he has scrupulously kept his beliefs out of his journalism. His classic series with Joseph Campbell is evidence of this. He searches below the surface. That is the duty of the journalist, and Bill Moyers always fulfilled his duty. A journalist is first a writer, and a writer is first a thinker. Moyers wrote and thought with the best of them. I respect him immensely. I also respect his words as he announced his retirement: